Detroit, MI residents who own boats love to take to the water on those long, hot summer days. The agents at Premier Insurance Agency are available to help their clients follow the laws of the lakes and make sure they have the best summer ever. One concern many boaters have is how old do you have to be to legally drive a boat in Michigan.
21 and Older
The law states that if you are 21 years of age or older, you don’t need to have an actual license to drive a boat. It is recommended, however, that you take a state-approved Boater Safety Course that is offered by the Department of Natural Resources.
If you are 21 years of age, you must complete a state-approved Boater Safety Course with a passing grade. It is mandatory that you carry your certificate of completion with you at all times while you are out on the water.
If you are under 12 years of age, you can legally operate a boat without a license if it is under 35 horsepower and is able to meet other criteria put in place by the DNR. In most situations with any type of motorized craft, an adult must be present.
Boat owners who love to explore Michigan’s lakes and waterways can contact the agents of Premier Insurance Agency if they have any questions concerning how old a child has to be to operate their boat. All of their agents encourage their customers to have a great summer and to contact them if questions arise.